[ARC Review] Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Amy's Reviews, ARC Reviews, Reviews 0 Comments 25th January, 2014

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

[ARC Review] Uninvited by Sophie JordanUninvited by Sophie Jordan
Published by HarperCollins on 2014-01-28
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads
four-stars
Amazon
From New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her as a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Confessions of a Murder Suspect.Davy had everything—a terrific boyfriend, the homecoming crown, a bright future at Juilliard—but when her genetic tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, she loses it all. Uninvited from her prestigious school and avoided by her friends and family, she is placed in a special class with other

I really really liked Uninvited by Sophie Jordan.  This book was exciting, terrifying, sexy, and thought provoking.  The book is set in a dystopian future where scientists have discovered that homicidal tendencies are actually genetic.  They now test everyone for HTS, aka the kill gene.  The book opens with a teenage girl,  with a bright future ahead and the whole world to conquer. Then one day she comes home from school to discover that she is a carrier for HTS.  Her whole world comes crashing down around her because she doesn’t feel any different, but now they say she is to become a killer.

I really liked Davy as a character.  I could really feel for her and everything she went through.  Her life goes down the drain pretty quickly, one minute she is popular, and the next she has a case worker and is going to school in a cage.  It is in situations like this that you find out who your real friends are. Davy discovers that her old friends are like rabid dogs turning on her in a second because she is the “dangerous” one.  I like that Davy is able to pick up the pieces somehow and make some new friends, and even one that could be something more.  I liked the relationship between Davy and O’Rouke.  I felt that their relationship moved at a believable pace, was quite sexy, and full of feels.

The overall story gave me feels and was quite terrifying in some aspects.  This could happen because things like this have happened throughout time.  When governments are tanking and they need scapegoats, something to distract the people and rally them together.  In this future, it is identifying potential killers, rounding them up, and monitoring them for the good of humanity.

I liked the questions this book brings up. Does treating potential killers like second class citizens because they “might” hurt someone really stop murders or just breed more?  When someone has nothing to lose, just how far will they go?  How far do you go to protect the ones you care about?  I think that what I liked most about this book is it asks such provocative questions about a future that could really happen.  I think that is what a good dystopian novel is, “could this happen to you?” That is the most terrifying thought of all. On that note, go read Uninvited by Sophie Jordan because this book really was so good when I read the last page I was floating on a happy cloud.

 

 

 

Written by Amy Gilman

Leave a Reply